About the International Health Section

The International Health Section was founded in 1976 to provide leadership and a focus on international public health issues within the American Public Health Association (APHA). It is governed by an elected leadership that directs the Section’s involvement in international health issues through APHA activities including: development of APHA’s Annual Meeting program; drafting relevant resolutions for support by APHA; participation on various APHA Boards and Councils; and other related activities.

The Section is an active community of international health professionals engaged in networking, policy development, and sharing scientific knowledge and experience with peers as well as increasingly in advocacy and public education. We have built relationships with other sections to promote global health throughout APHA.

The International Health section’s members are a broad range of international health professionals from students to professors, interns to program directors, and authorities on many aspects of international health.

Section Officers (elected to two-year terms)

  • Chair: Paul Freeman (2014), pafmaties@yahoo.com
  • Chair-Elect: Omar Khan (2016), ih.apha@gmail.com
  • Immediate Past Chair: Malcolm Bryant (2012), bryantm@bu.edu
  • Secretary: Jean Meyer Capps (2013); jean_capps@hotmail.com
  • Secretary-Elect: Sarah Shannon (2015); sarahs@hesperian.org

Section Councilors (elected to three-year terms)

  • Gonzalo Bacigalupe (2013); gonzalo.bacigalupe@umb.edu
  • Christine Benner (2013); christine-benner@ouhsc.edu
  • David Fitch (2014); diftch7@yahoo.com
  • Sosena Kebede (2014); soskeb@gmail.com
  • Jaya Prakash (2015); jayadoc21@gmail.com
  • Jirair Ratevosian (2015); lenee.simon@gmail.com

Governing Councilors (elected to two-year terms)

  • Padmini Murthy (2013); minimurthy@aol.com
  • Sharon Rudy (2013); srudy@ghfp.net
  • Gopal Sankaran (2014); gsankaran@wcupa.edu
  • Laura Altobelli (2014); laura@future.org
  • Carol Dabbs (2014); carol_dabbs@yahoo.com
  • Malcolm Bryant (2014); bryantm@bu.com
  • Peter Freeman (2014); pffreeman@gmail.com

IH section leadership meet each year in business meetings at the APHA Annual Meeting.

Members of the IH section leadership hold conference calls every other month to discuss section business and address any pertinent issues. If you would like to raise a question, suggestion, or concern, please contact a member of leadership listed above and ask him or her to raise it during one of the calls.


  • Awards: Gopal Sankaran; gsankaran@wcupa.edu
  • Communications: Jessica Keralis, Chair; jmkeralis@gmail.com / Eckhard Kleinau, Co-Chair; aphaih@gmail.com
  • Nominations: Amy Hagopian; hagopian.amy@gmail.com
  • Policy and Advocacy: Peter Freeman; pffreeman@gmail.com
  • Program: Pamini Murthy; minimurthy@aol.com
  • Section Management: Sarah Shannon; sarahs@hesparian.org
  • Membership: Rose Schneider; rschneider@jhu.edu
  • Students and New Professionals: Christine Benner; christine-benner@ouhsc.edu

Working Groups

  • Historian: Ray Martin; martinrs@aol.com
  • Border Initiative: Josefa Ippolito-Shepherd; ippolitoshepherdj@yahoo.com
  • Climate Change: Rose Schneider; rschneider@jhu.edu
  • Community-Based Primary Health Care: Elvira Beracochea; elvira@midego.com
  • Global Health Connections Committee: Gopal Sankaran, Chair; gsankaran@wcupa.edu / Mini Murthy, Co-Chair; minimurthy@aol.com / Hala Azzam, Co-Chair; hala_azzam@yahoo.com
  • Pharmaceuticals: Maggie Huff-Rousselle, Chair, mhuffrousselle@ssds.net / Robert Eilers, Co-Chair; robert.eilers@dhs.state.nj.us
  • Systems Sciences for Health Systems Strengthening: Kaja Abbas, Chair, kaja.abbas@gmail.com

APHA-Wide Responsibilities

  • Action Board Representative: Len Rubenstein; lrubenst@jhsph.edu
  • Global Health Manager (APHA Staff): Vina Hulamm; vina.hulamm@apha.org
  • International Human Rights Committee: Elvira Beracochea; elvira@midego.com
  • Publications: Carlos Castillo; ccastill@jhsph.edu
  • Science Board & Liaison to Publications Board: Omar Khan; okhan@jhsph.edu
  • Trade and Health Liaison: Mary Anne Mercer; mamercer@u.washington.edu

One response to “About the International Health Section

  1. Pingback: Next IH Section Leadership Conference next Tuesday | IH - BLOG